Thanks for signing up!
Join to recieve our newsletter


Mexican Currency Bills & Coins Billetes y Monedas Mexicanas

The Mexican currency is called Peso and its symbol is $.  The Peso and the US Dollar have both its origin in the 15th-19th century Spanish dollar. 

The peso was originally the name of the eight real coins issued in Mexico by  Spain and the first currency to use the $ symbol.

Its ISO code is MXN.

The first currency to be used in what is now Mexico, during Pre-Columbian times was the Cacao bean.

The Mexican Peso is the 8th currency most traded in the world and the 1st in Latin America.

Since  1535 the peso coins are made by la Casa de Moneda de Mexico.  Bills are printed since 1969 by the Banco de Mexico.




Mexican Coins


Ten Pesos Emiliano Zapata

Ten Pesos Back of Bill

$20 Pesos Benito Juarez

$20 Pesos Back of Bill Monumento a Juarez

$50 Pesos Back Morelia, Monarch Butterflies Fishermen

$100 Pesos Nezahualcoyotl

$100 Pesos Tenochtitlan

$200 Pesos Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz

$500 Pesos General Ignacio Zaragoza

$500 Pesos Back Puebla’s Cathedral

$500 Pesos Diego Rivera

$500 Pesos Back Frida Kahlo

$1,000 Pesos Miguel Hidalgo

$1,000 Pesos Dolores Hidalgo

Mexican Currency.

Related Articles