Join to recieve our newsletter

Inside México Logo


Mexican Revolution Facts

Beginning date: The Mexican Revolution war began the 20th of November 1910

Ending date: There is controversy regarding the end of the Mexican Revolution. Some sources believe it is marked by the Proclamation o the Mexican Constitution in 1917. Other sources state that it was in 1924 when President Plutarco Elias Calles took office.

Objectives-Goal: The initial purpose of the revolutionary movement was to overthrow General Porfirio Diaz who had been in power form more thank 30 years.

Important Dates

September 15-16, 1910: President Porfirio Diaz presides over the Centennial Celebrations of the Mexican I Independence.

October 5, 1910: Francisco Madero, after fleeing to the United States, proclaims the Plan de San Luis in which he asks all Mexicans to rise against the government of Porfirio Diaz.

November 18, 1910: A date is set for Sunday 10  of November 1910.  The Serdan Brothers along with other Madero followers fight the police in the City of Puebla. This marks the beginning of the armed war.

March 11, 1911: Emiliano Zapata and his force took arms in Villa de Ayala Morelos.

May 25, 1911: President Porfirio Diaz resigns after 30 years in power.

November 6, 1911: President Francisco I Madero took office after winning the elections in October 1911.

Pages: 1 2

Related Articles