Blue Triangle:
3 Branches of Power

Red Stripes:
The blood that gives life to the 3 Branches of Power

White Star:
Puerto Rico

White Stripes:
Human Rights & Freedom

The current flag of Puerto Rico was adopted in 1952. It has the same flag design which was created in 1892 by the Puerto Rican Revolutionary Committee.

The Puerto Rican flag has 5 alternating stripes. The two white stripes symbolize human rights and freedom. The blue triangle represents the 3 branches of power: ExecutiveLegislative and Judicial. The 3 red stripes suggest the blood that gives life to these 3 branches of power.  The white star stands for Puerto Rico.

Puerto Rico is a commonwealth territory of the United States.  Puerto Ricans gained full U.S. citizenship in 1917.