El Salvador Flag

Blue: Atlantic and Pacific Oceans
White: Peace

The flag of El Salvador, first adopted on September 4, 1908.  , has three horizontal stripes. The blue stripes of the flag represent the two oceans that border Central America, the Atlantic and the Pacific. The central white stripe symbolizes peace.


At the center of the flag is El Salvador coat of arms. Encircling are the words República de el Salvador en la América Central which means Republic of El Salvador in Central America. The five volcanoes represent the five states of the United Provinces of Central America.


Below the triangle is the national motto of El Salvador ~ DiosUniónLibertad. God, Union, Liberty. Inside the triangle reads 15 de Septiembre de 1821, September 15,1821, the date of El Salvador‘s independence from Spain.



El Salvador is the smallest and the most densely populated country of Central America.



The Spanish Flag

Colors: Red, Weld Yellow

The Spanish Flag is also known as la Rojigualdaroji – rojo- for red and gualda for the plant that tints a golden yellow. The Spanish flag has a  yellow central stripe which is double the width of the two red stripes.

The Spanish flag used to be predominantly white, as that of many other European countries. When Charles III became King of Spain, in 1785, he  realized that it was necessary to change the colors of the flag so as to not to be confused with enemy ships when at war. The King Charles selected the current red and yellow colors, that come from The House of Bourbon.

The Spanish coat of arms is placed slightly to the left on the yellow stripe, on both sides of the flag. This shield has at the top the Royal Crown and the Pillars of Hercules on each side.
The quarters symbolize the Medieval kingdoms that united form what we now know as Spain. These kingdoms were Castilla (castle), León (lion), Aragón (bars),Navarra (chains) and Granada (flower).

At the center it has an oval with three fleur-de-lis  which represents the House of Bourbon.

The Spanish flag can only be flown horizontally from public buildings, homes, ships,  town squares.

*Spain is located in Europe and is part of the European Union.


The Flag of Ecuador

Yellow Stripe:
Gold & Rich National Resources

Blue Stripe: 
Oceans & Sky
Red Stripe:
Blood of the Heroes

The flag of Ecuador was first adopted on September 26, 1860. In 1900 the coat of arms was added to the center of the flag.  The design of the flag is very similar to that of Colombia and Venezuela, because the all were former constituent territories of Gran Colombia (1819 to 1831).


The Ecuadorian flag has three stripes, with the yellow band being double the width of the red and blue stripes.   The yellow band represents the richness of Ecuador’s national resources. The blue stripe stands for the sky and shores of Ecuador.  The blood of the national heroes is symbolized by the red band.


The day of the Ecuadorian Flag is observed every September 26.


The Flag of Chile

BluePacific Ocean and Sky
White:  Snow covered Andes
Red:  The blood of the Independence heroe
Star: Guide to progress and honor

The Flag of Chile is also known as  La Estrella Solitaria, The Lone Star. The inclusion of the star goes back to the star used by the Mapuches.Mapuches are indigenous inhabitants of south-central Chile and southwestern Argentina.

Chile’s flag is very similar to the flag of Texas. The flag of Texas was designed in 1839, 21 years after the Chilean flag was adopted. 

The flag of Chile was adopted on 18 October 1817.

El Día de la Bandera or the Fiesta of the Chilean Flag is celebrated every July 9.

The Flag of Venezuela

Rich natural resources
The Caribbean Sea
Red:  The blood of the Independence heroes

7 Provinces that signed the Independence Act + Guyana

The Venezuelan Flag has three stripes. On the blue stripe there are eight stars that symbolize the 7 provinces that signed the Independence Act on July 5,1811
  In 2006 the President of Venezuela Hugo Chávez ordered the addition of an eighth star which represents the Guyana Province.

Thflag is a variant of that designed by Francisco de Miranda  for his 1806 expedition to liberate Venezuela.  This flag was also the inspiration for Colombia and Ecuador’s flags

The flag of Venezuela was adopted on March 12, 2006.

El Día de la Bandera or the Fiesta of the Venezuelan Flag is celebrated every August 3. Until 2006 it was celebrated on March 12.

The Flag of Nicaragua

BlueAtlantic Ocean and Pacific Ocean
WhitePurity , Peace and Integrity

The flag of Nicaragua, first adopted on September 4, 1908, has three horizontal stripes. The blue stripes of the flag represent the two oceans that border Central America, the Atlantic and the Pacific. The central white stripe symbolizes the nation, peace, purity and integrity.

At the center of the flag is Nicaragua’s coat of arms.  The volcanoes represent the original 5 member states of the United Provinces of Central America. The Cap of Liberty represents freedom, and the rays of the sun and the rainbow stand for of the bright future.

The day of the Nicaraguan Flag is observed every July 14.